The Daily Visual Inspiration

The visual things that inspire me daily

Wordless Wednesday: Sky Edition

It is time for yet another Wordless Wednesday! Last week, I gave you Airport Edition in two parts – part 1 & part 2. If you’re a frequent reader of my blog, you know that I tell you how beautiful the sky is here. Everyday, it’s like a new painting being painted on the sky. It is unbelievably gorgeous! Instead of just talking about it, this week I thought the theme for Wordless Wednesday should be the sky.

The sky inspires me so much! It is the first thing I see when I wake up. It is the first thing I look at when I go out. Over the course of time, it has truly started to play a bigger part in my life. When I think of Sky, I think of so many things but mainly what comes to my mind is the Native American people. Sky plays a big part in their cultures.

In most Creation Accounts, Earth and sky are the first things created. The sky is often personified in Native American mythology, sometimes as a Creator (Mother Earth and Father Sky) or a powerful spirit (Skan). Sky-dwelling creator figures appear in the accounts of many of the Native American cultures. Among these figures are Above-Old-Man (Wiyot), Akbaatatdia (Crow), Earthmaker (Ho-Chunk, Tohono O’odham), Es-te Fas-ta (Seminole), Kodoyanpe (Maidu), Kumush (Modoc), and Utsiti (Keres).

In many traditions, the sky is the home of powerful sky spirits. Birds were seen as intermediaries between humans and the sky spirits.They were believed to be messengers that could carry prayers to the gods and return with gods’ blessings and guidance. For this reason, Feathers were viewed as a bridge between people and the sky spirit world and were used as offerings and on Prayersticks. According to Cherokee tradition, the sky spirits – represented by Great Hawk (Tlanuwa) – were often in conflict with evil underground spirits – represent by Great Serpent (Uktena).

In the Iroquois tradition, Sky Woman, the mother of humanity, fell from the sky world. To make place for her to stand, the water animals created land. In the Chumash tradition, there is a story of a Sky Coyote, which you can read more about here.

I’ve always respected Native American people, and have been fascinated by their cultures ever since I was young. Though lately, I’ve been more and more pulled into it. I’ve been doing a bit of research of some of the cultures, as there are over 500 different cultures/tribes registered in the US, it is impossible to learn about all of them.

The sky is just a small reminder to me of everything going around me. The wind is a reminder for me to sometimes stop thinking and start listening the nature. And as I listen to the wind, as I watch the sky, I get this feeling of gratitude. Happiness takes over me. These two elements are so important to me. I find inspiration from each, daily.

27 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: Sky Edition

  1. duppyconqueror11
    May 30, 2012

    Wow, great pix. The sky is unbelievably beautiful indeed!!

  2. Brianne
    May 30, 2012

    these sky photos are powerful!

  3. Fantastic photos ~ love sky shots ~ thanks, ^_^

  4. Paula J
    May 30, 2012

    Beautiful sky and vast views!!
    Thanks so much for linking up for WW :))

    Paula
    lifeasweknowitbypaula.blogspot.com

    • sarahuuu
      May 30, 2012

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment :)!

  5. BEAUTIFUL captures. I love to take photos of the sky too. And you are right gratitude is the key to happiness!

    • sarahuuu
      May 30, 2012

      Thank you! Life seems more beautiful when you just stop and listen, no matter how busy your life is. And in that moment, appreciation of the blessings you have in life! :)

  6. posh
    May 30, 2012

    It’s really neat to watch the different cloud formations.

    Have a great WW!
    POSH

    • sarahuuu
      May 30, 2012

      Thanks!
      Have a great WW as well! ;)

  7. zongrik
    May 30, 2012
  8. Amazing photos! I love sky pics too.

  9. Brandi
    May 31, 2012

    What great pictures!! I love all the different transformations…it’s amazing how cloud are ever changing :) Thanks for sharing!

  10. Mimi
    May 31, 2012

    Those sky photos are so beautiful! I love clouds.

  11. lailani
    June 1, 2012

    Wonderful sky shots! Love em!

  12. Tina´s PicStory
    June 1, 2012

    great shots! :)

  13. Leah H.
    June 2, 2012

    Great shots! Sky is always beautiful.. Thank’s for sharing:)

    Visiting for WW- hope you can stop by:)

    http://www.cassandrasminicorner.com/2012/05/priceless-my-princess.html

    • sarahuuu
      June 4, 2012

      Thank you! Thanks for stopping by :)

  14. Pingback: Not “Dust in the Wind”! | phoenixrisesagain

  15. Cassey
    June 2, 2012

    Sky is the limit:) Beautiful shots!

    Visiting for WW- hope you can stop by:)

    http://www.loveablecassandra.com/2012/05/peony-flowers.html

  16. Christian
    June 6, 2012

    Beautiful and dramatic photos!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2012 by in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
